{Most Anticipated} Books Coming Out This Summer

There are so many great books coming out this summer that I want to add to my shelves. Some are endings to series I have been collecting and some are debuts. The books on my wishlist range from middle grade to adult fiction and vary in genres. What can I say? I’m pretty much all over the place with which books interest me. Here are some of the books that are on my radar for this summer.

(For more information click on the titles of the books to access the Goodreads pages)

The Last Star by Rick Yancy

So, I have the first two books but I haven’t read them yet. I’m one of those people that will at times collect a whole trilogy before I even pick up the first book from my shelf. What can I say? I love to binge read a series. I hate the whole waiting period between books. I really want to read this series though before I watch the movie.

16131489

The City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin

This is the stunning conclusion to Justin Cronin’s The Passage Trilogy. I’m currently reading an advanced reader’s copy on my Kindle. I love love love this series! It’s so damn creepy! A post-apocalyptic world where humans struggle to survive while being hunted by virals. This is not just a horror series, it’s not just a dystopian or science fiction series either. It has all these elements, yes, but Cronin is definitely a literary writer. Digging deep beyond the horror of what is going on in the world he created, Cronin explores what it means to be human…literally and figuratively. It’s definitely a series that stays with you long past the reading of the final pages. I need a finished copy of this book. Justin Cronin is coming to Changing Hands in Tempe. I’m hoping I can get there to get a signed finished copy of this book and hopefully get my copies of the first two books signed as well.

26891429

The Darkest Torment by Gena Showalter

I have been waiting for a new Lords of the Underworld book for forever! Ok, not forever but it sure seems like it.

25801632

The Girls by Emma Cline

This is a debut novel about a girl named Evie that finds herself fascinated with another girl named Suzanne. Evie finds herself drawn into a soon to be infamous cult lead by a charming and charismatic man. This book has been blurbed as perfect for fans of The Virgin Suicides. The part that caught my interest is that the cult in this book is based on the Manson Family.

26893819

Enchanted Islands by Allison Amend

This is set in the  Galápagos Islands during the brink of World War II. Yeah, that was all I needed to  know. If you’ve been watching my BookTube videos, you know that lately I’ve been reading a lot of historical fiction set during World War II.

26192488

The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury

The sequel to The Sin Eater’s Daughter. I have the first book on my Kindle. I have not read it yet. It has received many conflicting reviews, which just makes me even more interested to find out what I think about it. This second book though has been getting all kinds of raving reviews. Which I have to admit kind of scares me.

26625494

26 Kisses by Anna Michels

This is a debut novel that is supposed to be both funny and heartbreaking. I have a feeling this one will have my FEELS all over the place. I do love me a good contemporary, especially during the summer.

25263947

 

Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh

“A prehistoric fantasy—with allusions to Pride and Prejudice.” Aaaah heck yes! Sold right here please because I need to read this!

27064385

The King Slayer by Virginia Boecker

I had no clue this was a sequel. I need to get my hands on the first book as well. It’s being pitched as perfect for fans of the Graceling and the Grisha Trilogy.

25603164

And I Darken by Kiersten White

I received a review copy of this via NetGalley. I’ve seen this pitched as “What if Vlad the Impaler was a girl?” Yeah, you pretty much sold me there. This is next up on my TBR of ARC reads and I just know I’m going to want a finished copy of this one. Plus, look at that cover! So freakin’ gorgeous!

27190613

Empire of Dust by Eleanor Herman

I believe this is the sequel to Legacy of Kings, which I have not read yet. It is definitely on my TBR and I’ve heard great things so…yes I want to read it soon!

25764243

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

This is the sequel to An Ember in the Ashes, which I totally loved. Elias is like everything in this series. I love his character so much. I need to know what will happen to him next.

25558608

The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson

I believe this is going to be the final book in the series, at least I think it is just  a trilogy. I wasn’t a huge fan of the first book, sorry guys I saw that plot twist coming. However, I completely loved the second book and since it totally left me hanging I’m desperate to read the third book. Like NOW!

25944798

So those are the books I can’t wait to get my hands on this summer. What about you? What books are you most anticipating? Let’s chat down below.

As always stay book nerdy & happy reading!

z52649b442f6e6

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s